Asilomar/Empty Spools

Asilomar/Empty Spools.  My friend Jeanette told me all about it when I was at a Quiltworx retreat this past summer and talked me into it.  WHAT A GREAT TIME!IMG_7494

The beach at Asilomar… IMG_7508

The sand was like sugar!IMG_7509

I jumped right in and started sewing on Thistle Pods. Let me say right off, this is my favorite Judy Niemeyer pattern of all time (and I love her patterns!).  I picked my absolute favorite background–that blue!  I could get lost in it… and when Martha got it in at Compass Rose I bought it ALL! I started piecing the borders… I  figured it would be the most involved and it was.IMG_7506Then the geese!IMG_7527Once done with the border I moved on… but first a peak of the border:IMG_7575 The center started with the glorious green “stars” which are beautiful compass roses…IMG_7611Then I threw in a little bit of sun.IMG_7623This is what I had displayed by the end of the week…IMG_7637It was fun making new friends, sewing into the wee hours, and learning new techniques from Judy Niemeyer!  The other women were INSPIRATIONAL!  Their work was amazing.  I didn’t want to display their work on my blog without their permission…

Here we are…IMG_7641

This cracked me up… IMG_7646

Once I got home I put up what I had (mostly… my wall isn’t big enough) and started to finish the few blocks I had left.

IMG_7669It took just a few hours to complete all the rest. 24 (partial blocks) stars from the border and 5 “suns.”IMG_7704Now to piece it all together! I am excited to say this one will end up on my bed.

One thought on “Asilomar/Empty Spools

Leave a Reply

