New Beginnings Blog Hop

New Beginnings Blog Hop.jpg

This month’s blog hop is all about  New Beginnings.  The Island Batik fabric collection I am featuring is River’s Edge.  They can be found on the Island Batik website here.

I used the Sunburst pattern that Cindi McCracken designed. I just love this pattern! It’s so very easy to use, plus it’s paper pieced.


My “new beginning” strategy with the Island Batik River’s Edge collection had to do with making a quilt that an Elder would like. One of my favorite charities to donate to is the Chiniak Bay Elder House in Kodiak. This great live in care facility is a special place for many families–people who live there, people who work there, and those of us with lost family members. One thing my guild, the Kodiak Bear Paws Quilter’s Guild, does is donate a quilt to each new resident who moves in. I have made three for female residents. This project allowed me to make a quilt for a one of the men. It’s loaded with fabric that has big mouth bass on it! :)

I started cutting it out last Thursday evening and had all the segments done by Sunday evening. Once a pieced all the segments, I trimmed them up and started to put the blocks together Monday evening.

I quickly got the blocks together!

Thirteen blocks on point make this a fast dramatic quilt!

I woke up Tuesday morning early and  I added the black triangles in the corners.

While I haven’t quilted it quite yet im pretty pleased with this project. I’m waiting to find out if I should make it a twin sized bed quilt or leave it throw size.

Island Batik has a fantastic little giveaway here.

I also have a sweet little giveaway… I will select one random winner who comments below (please make sure I can find your email address) for these two patterns by Cindi McCracken and a couple handfuls of beach glass I recently found on one of Kodiak’s beaches.

SCHEDULE
Friday, January 6 – Hop Introduction!
Island Batik!

Monday, January 9 – Coastal Mist
Stone Cottage Quilts

Tuesday, January 10 – Dotalicious
DelLillians
Vicki’s Crafts and Quilting
PamelaQuilts
Inchworm Fabrics

Wednesday, January 11 – Drizzle
Webster Quilt

Thursday, January 12 – Fifi and Fido + Happy Hounds
Mary Mack Made Mine
Quilting Affection

Friday, January 13 – Fresh Catch
Bejeweled Quilts by Barb

Monday, January 16 – Glowing Embers
Purrfect Spots Designs

Tuesday, January 17 – Lake Life
Freemotion by the River

Wednesday, January 18 – River’s Edge
Ark Angle Creations
Archipelago Quilting

Friday, January 20 – Blushing Blooms
Desert Bloom Quilting

Monday, January 23 – Gone Fishin’
Maria Michaels Designs

Wednesday, January 25 – Surf and Sand
The Patchwork Pearl
Beaquilter

Thursday, January 26 – Twilight Blush
KISSed Quilts

Friday, January 27 – Happy Harvest
For Quilts Sake

Monday, January 30 – Jolly Holly
Kauffman Designs

Tuesday, January 31 – Frost
MooseStash Quilting

Wednesday, February 1 – Merry and Bright
Patchwork Breeze
Sally’s Quilting Corner

19 thoughts on “New Beginnings Blog Hop

  1. Jennifer you are like a machine! I marvel how quickly you put these beautiful quilts together. Your blog and pics make me want to move to your town. I have never seen sea glass in person. Following your story. I can’t imagine how much you will miss all this when you come to Montana. New adventures await you. Anita Bitzer kitso55347@yahoo.com

  2. Your quilt turned out lovely…what a wonderful cause you are donating it to. I have many men in my life, and it’s nice to see a more masculine quilt out there, as I too like to to sew for them. Great sea glass too! Thanks for sharing!

  3. This quilt certainly is dramatic! How awesome of you to make quilts for the Elders. I am sure they are loved and appreciated a great deal! Great work!

  4. oh that’s so amazing! I love that Sunburst pattern–I adore paper-piecing and stars/sun-bursts. I’d love to make it. Those gorgeous golden IB fabrics just pop off the dark background–another thing that I admire and like to do. Maybe someday I could convince my husband to take an Alaskan quilting cruise with me–he really wants to visit Alaska!
    reillyr2(at)com(dot)com

  5. What a lovely gift that will be for the resident of the Elder House. Handmade quilts carry with them the love of the maker–and I think seniors feel that, having grown up in a time when people made things by hand and took pride in it, so it means more to them. Good for you, and thanks for the reminder to the rest of us.

  6. Beautiful quilt Jennifer! Your sea glass looks so neat! We have “river glass” but the pieces are sharp and dangerous so I am always picking them up just to get them out of the river.

  7. What a great quilt for a guy!! My son is a Wildlife Conservation Officer–so I am always on the lookout for great guy fabric and patterns!! Thank you for using your gifts to serve others!!
    lizardcreekquilting(at) yahoo (dot) com

Leave a comment